Faculty

Cantrell, AkiyoLecturer
Japanese Language
cantrell@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2236
Chen, Shu-ChuanLecturer in Chinese language
Chinese Language
bellachen@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2234
Chiang, HowardProfessor
Lai Ho & Wu Cho-liu Endowed Chair in Taiwan Studies
howardchiang@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2257
Fleming, WilliamAssociate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
Japanese Literature, Comparative Literature, Theater Studies
wfleming@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2224
Mondays, 2-3 PM
Frühstück, SabineProfessor of Modern Japanese Cultural Studies
Koichi Takashima Chair in Japanese Cultural Studies
fruhstuck@eastasian.ucsb.edu
On research leave, 2023–2024
Guan, DaoxiongLecturer with Continuing Appointment
Chinese Language; Chinese Classical Literature
guan@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2241
Hsu, Chen-Chuan (Jennifer)Lecturer
Chinese Language
hsu@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2225
Hwang, SusanAssistant Professor
Modern Korean Literature, Korean Cultural Studies, Translation Studies, Theories of World Literature
shwang@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2256
Ikeuchi, Suma (she/her 池内須摩)Associate Professor
Undergraduate Advisor
Anthropology, Migration & Diaspora, Aging & Care, Transnationalism, Japan, Brazil, the Philippines
sikeuchi@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2254
Office Hours: Please Email; On Leave from Mid-Feb 2024
Lee, WonaLecturer
Korean Language
wonalee@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2238
Wednesdays 12 -1:50pm
Li, XiaorongProfessor
Late Imperial (Ming-Qing) and Early Republican Chinese Literature
xiaorongli@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2227
Mazanec, ThomasAssociate Professor
Medieval Chinese Poetry, Buddhism, Comparative Literature, Digital Humanities, Translation
mazanec@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2255
Thursdays, 12:30–1:30pm
Pierce, KanaLecturer
Japanese Language
kpierce@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2236
Rambelli, FabioProfessor
International Shinto Foundation Chair in Shinto Studies
Japanese Religions and Intellectual History, Buddhism, Shinto, Semiotics
rambelli@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2258
Saltzman-Li, KatherineAssociate Professor
Japanese performing arts, literature, and folklore; comparative literature
ksaltzli@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2237
Please check each quarter.
Steavu, DominicAssociate Professor
Daoism and Chinese Buddhism
dominicsteavubalint@ucsb.edu
Sturman, PeterChinese Painting and Calligraphy, Early to Modern; intersections of texts, theories, and imagessturman@arthistory.ucsb.edu
Tsuchiya, YukikoLecturer
Japanese Language
ytsuchiya@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2221
Xu, HangpingAssistant Professor
Modern Chinese Literature, Film/Media Studies, Comparative Literature, Literary Theory, Political Philosophy
hangping@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2223
By appointment only
Yamauchi, YokoLecturer
Program Coordinator
Japanese Language
yokoy@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2235
Yang, MayfairProfessor of EALCS & Religious Studies Departments
China: Chinese religions, modernity, environment, and the state, gender, media studies
yangm@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2222
Fall 2023 -- sabbatical
Yuan, JingLecturer
Chinese language and literature, Anthropology
yuanjing@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2225
M/W 12:00-1:00PM or Zoom (880 340 9004)
Zheng, XiaoweiAssociate Professor
Modern Chinese History and Culture
zheng@history.ucsb.edu
HSSB 4231
Friday 11am-1pm